Skip to content

A Fathers Love – Erin’s Story

March 24, 2011

As far back as I can remember during my childhood, I was attached to my dad every waking moment. He was an incredible man, who lead a wonderful life and had a bright future ahead of him. I thought everything he did was fascinating and it made me happy just to be near him. I would go to school early in the morning, and when kindergarten finally got let out, he’d always be standing outside my classroom with a huge grin on his face, to hold my hand as we walked home. I don’t think there was ever a day that he wasn’t there to walk me home. Actually, I don’t think there was a day that passed where he wasn’t there to support me or to just tell me he loved me. He never wanted to miss out on his family growing, learning and achieving new things. He wanted to see it all, and nothing was going to get in the way of that for him. He even went through all of the pointless hobbies I decided that I wanted to do, even if they only lasted weeks or months. Golf, baseball, gymnastics – you name it, I did it, and he was there to guide me through. He even became the assistant coach on my baseball team when I was 6 just to spend time with me. I valued every moment with my dad, good or bad, happy or sad. I was young, but I still understood the amount of love he had for me, my sister and my mother – I don’t think that’s something one can forget. On a beautiful, sunny day in the spring, I got let out of class and my father wasn’t standing there to greet me and I walked home in confusion. It was later, when I was close to being 7, I had come to understand that he became extremely ill of cancer. It was that moment where I realized, things were going to be different from now on. One evening, while I was sitting in the hospital drawing and coloring, my mother asked him if he was worried about passing on, and my father’s reply was surprisingly strong. “I’m not scared of dying, I’m afraid of what I’m leaving behind. I want to be there to see my girls grow up.” It’s been almost fourteen years now without my father, and I still, to this day, will never forget the smiles, the tears and all the memories that we shared – But most of all, I will never forget the love he shared, that has made me the person I am today.

…email your story to band@highvalleymusic.com

One Comment leave one →
  1. Casandra permalink
    August 3, 2011 3:40 am

    We really like your songs, please send us a CD. o Jacob and Helena Friesen valle de rosas #26 Apartado62 34420, nuevo ideal dgo. Mex.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

